• Welcome to Crosman Air Pistol Owners Forum.

Marauder vs 1322

Started by kb5zcr, March 19, 2012, 02:55:53 AM

kb5zcr

Hi, I noticed that the new Marauder on the crosman site will shoot up to 700 fps.
Im wondering if the real difference between the marauder in fps and a 1322 is the larger air tube allowing more air capacity. Maybe it's just that you can pressureize the marauder so much higher than you ever could with a hand pump gun.
I should say that although I have been carrying a gun at work for 23 years, I am pretty new to this whole airgun world.
Thanks for the experts here.

0351_Vet

Marauder  .25 / CP 4-16x56mm AO Mil-Dot & Marauder P-Rod
Disco .22 / Leapers 3-12x44mm AO  Mil-Dot / Disco Sleeper Carbine
Katana .22 / CP 4-16x56mm AO Mil-Dot
2260 / CCS 2400KT / 2300KT / 1701 / 1377 / 1322 / EB22 / Benji 132 / Benji 422

<'((((><      ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

1377x

in my opinion they both can do 700fps
the maruader is designed to do it
the 1322 has to be modded to do it.
the 1322 is a pistol while the Marauder is a rifle
you are talking about the Marauder right? or are you talking about the Marauder pistol?
closed mouths dont get fed

Alrauder

At first glance I thought that he was referring to the pistol (P-rod), as the rifle (M-rod) would propel any normal .22 pellet at much more than 700fps, surely...!!!

It's arguable that the out of the box P-rod might push 700fps with some much lighter pellets, maybe less than 14gr. I'd believe it would get around the 600 - 650'ish fps with midweight .22 pellets approx 16 - 18gr and most likely about 550 fps with baracudas @ approx 21gr - on average...!!!

It would be more accurate and far better to work out velocity based on the energy that the P-rod is capable of, which is around 14 ft-lb at the muzzle, which is pretty hefty for any air pistol. Of course, these velocities would be suitable as a guide only, not necessarily gospel...