• Welcome to Crosman Air Pistol Owners Forum.

Barrel issue?

Started by Tater, November 13, 2012, 01:45:08 AM

Tater

I received a 12" .177 barrel today and noticed a chip/scratch on it. It came in a long plastic bag but was only half  covered with, it was half way out. I looked close at the end of the barrel and it didn't look like any crown I've seen in pics posted hereand elsewhere.
There's is also a scratch across the face of it and there is also some kind of chip. The chip is on the right (about 2:00) and the scratch is across the top.
I'm a rookie at this, but I don't really see a crown. I could definitely be wrong about that, but hopefully it can be seen in the pics.  ???

I took about 12 pictures to get these two that came out in focus. I couldn't get any closer, the camera is pretty old. Thoughts?

Jerry

NW Chicago suburbs

targettgii

In my opinion the scratch is ugly but doesn't go across the bore and if the chip is that light spot top right I don't think that would be an issue either but I could be wrong. ??? ???And I have to agree with you doesn't look like much of a crown could be wrong about that also.
Tom

Modded 1377
Modded 2240
Modded 1322
1750 HPA pistol
Stock 2260(for now)
.22 Gen.2 Marauder
CCS 2300
Custom 1740
38 T

tinker

Looks like a mark left over from cutting the barrel that wasn't polished out.  The bad is that there isn't any crown.  There are simple instructions on how to DYI here on the forum.  Sorry I don't have any links handy for you.  Hate sending to to the search engine.

Glen
(Tinker)
If it's not broken then modify it!

Tater

No problem about links.
It was supposed to be crowned already and I'm not comfortable attempting that at all.
Jerry

NW Chicago suburbs

breakfastchef

If the scratch and/or chip is related to shipping, you are pretty much out of luck unless you requested insurance.